You are here


9.99 CAD

Available on CD or downloadable through iTunes.

Brigadoon was the third full-length album from Vancouver-based pop practitioners P:ano, and the first released by Mint. P:ano's first two albums found a band working to find a voice of its own in contemporary indie rock. As it turned out, P:ano's voice was uniquely eclectic, idiosyncratically engaging a diversity of musical and thematic interests.

Where their previous releases hosted many guest players, Brigadoon featured only the multitalented core band of Nick Krgovich, Larissa Loyva, Justin Kellam and Julia Chirka singing and playing all manner of instruments, from zither to drum machine to trumpet to handclaps. As such, Brigadoon was a kind of overdue debut of its own, and not only for Mint.

On the heels of their groundbreaking Mint debut, P:ano took a hard left in creating their followup mini-album Ghost Pirates Without Heads. With its lush, layered, and complex production and varied, unconventional instrumentation, Brigadoon garnered repeated (and well justified, we think) comparisons to Brian Wilson's opus Smile. Never ones to be stuck in a rut, (even a magnificent rut) the gang returned to Hive Studios one morning armed only with a ukelele, accordion, bass clarinet & a box of percussion instruments and recorded & mixed 11 stripped-down, near-perfect pop nuggets in time to be home for supper.

While the recordings are technically very different, immediately noticeable were the beautiful harmonies, the clever arrangements, and plenty of the wry, quirky wit that we all so loved from Brigadoon, as well as their previous releases When it's Dark and its Summer and The Den. Perfect, quirky, Bacharach-like, lovely, melancholy, poignant, joyful: these were but a few of the most oft-used adjectives reviewers brought to bear in describing Brigadoon, and they fully applied to Ghost Pirates Without Heads as well.

If there is such a thing as a nationally representative response, P:ano is Canada's answer to The Fiery Furnaces. - TinyMixTapes

Incorporating the foursome’s varied pop sensibilities, P:ano unabashedly hold their open-hearted sincerity out for all to see and traipse through a plethora of different sounds with a youthful sense of exuberance and curiosity. - Exclaim!

P:ano is doing something that is rewarding for its originality. Behind all the modest gestures, it’s vastly obvious how much they invest in the music. For all P:ano’s wistful demeanor, you can still tell they’re an optimistic band at the core, and it’s this optimism that makes you sure they’re only going to keep getting better. - PopMatters

But when it comes to P:ano, an event is subservient to the music; the music itself procures that euphoric, almost nostalgic feeling that is usually only conjured by summer. - TinyMixTapes


Track List: 
Covered Wagons
Supermarket One
Leave me With the Boy
He Will Come Back to Me
The Rescuer
Storm the Gates
The Snow
You the Window
Pure Evil
Georgey the Horsey
The Monster Mash
Dark Hills
Sweet Sweets
Somebody Get Me Annette
Ghost Pirates
Light O' Love
Candy is Nice
Clapping Hands
The Cameroon
The True Light